Top 20 Categories in the JetPages directory
go
  Business type    Company
(NW5 or Acton)
Help on search
Search options

Movie Channels

Entertainment Channels

Faith Channels

Music Channel

Film Reviews 2010


Why Did I Get Married Too?

This film is about four couples that vacation together on a beautiful island. During their break, the issues of their relationships are raised, money, fidelity and history rears its head. Quite simply, it is an attempt to depict African American relationship issues.

All the couples have issues and one of the couples pays the ultimate price.

The actor that stands out is Michael Jai White (Spoiler: His topless scene defines premium chest conditioning) and the actresses are Tasha Smith and Jill Scott.

This is a decent relationship issues movie but the first instalment of this film was better.

Afrometer: 6.5/10

Reviewed by Ade . Return to top


Salt

If I were to summarise this film, it would be ‘A female version of Bourne Identity’. Evelyn Salt (Angelina Jolie) is a CIA agent who is accused of being a Russian spy. Before she is able to prove otherwise, a sequence of measures triggers off a need for her to use all her skills to survive.

Angelina Jolie is an awesome actress and after the likes of Lara Croft: Tomb Raider, you can appreciate that her moves have sharpened over time.

As usual, the FBI and CIA beef kicks in clouding intents. This is a delightful action film. Some scenes were rather far fetched but that is why it is called fiction.

Afrometer: 7.1/10

Reviewed by Ade . Return to top


Grown Ups

How this film was certified 12A is beyond one’s comprehension. That said, it was a very funny film of 5 Basket Ball players who get together 30 years after winning the local championships.

These 40 year olds reunite at the funeral of their Basketball coach and vacation at the big house they celebrated their win 30 years before. While one of them is hundreds of pounds heavier another had built a fortune. Their wives and children are also very entertaining.

For humour, it gets high scores and is quite entertaining. Personally a 15 certification would have been more appropriate.

Afrometer: 6.8/10

Reviewed by Ade . Return to top


Marmaduke

This is the film about a family who move from Kansas to Orange County(OC) to enhance the career prospects of the father of the house. The re-adjustment is not restricted to his wife and kids but also to Marmaduke their big Great Dane who needs to move up the pecking order in the dog community.

It is a funny comedy movie but a rather predictable story. The animal trainers made a lot of effort but CGI takes over in the latter part of the film.

No Oscars here but a decent family film for TV.

Afrometer: 6.0/10

Reviewed by Ade . Return to top


The Expendibles

This film was recommended by my partner (woman / Wife). With gun-toting testosterone characters involved, I must say, the rivers of bloods, explosions, guns fired in the film would probably equal a civil war. Bringing most of the action heroes together in one film was bound to cause this. With a line up of Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Jet Li, Dolph Lundgren, Randy Couture, Steve Austin, Terry Crews and Mickey Rourke and cameo appearances from Arnold Schwarzenegger and Bruce Willis.

The historical moment was having Stallone and Schwarzenegger in the same scene being sworn at by Willis, everyone in the cinema roared. Terry Crews was nearly as funny as his role in ‘Everyone hates Chris’ except for the fact that he had a gun that could end any war with little persuasion. Look out for the way he describes his girl friend with such passion.

I hope to be forgiven for not mentioning Eric Roberts, Julia Roberts brother who is a really bad guy in this film. Stallone and his crew rescue a country in South America with guns and explosives and that ladies and gentlemen is more or less it apart from some lady weaknesses issues experienced by some of these really HARD muscle bound men.

Afrometer: 6.9/10

Reviewed by Ade . Return to top


The Karate Kid

Just in case you're interested. I intent to introduce an Afrometer on films shown at the cinema. It shall be featured on www.jetpages.com in the next 3 months. This film is a remake of the 1984 original. As the whole world gets into the march towards recycling, so does Hollywood. Perhaps tinsel town is running out of ideas but this movie re-enforces Jaden Smith (Will Smith’s son) as a good actor in the making.

If you have seen the original then I am pleased to inform you that not much has changed. Wipe on wipe off is replaced by jacket on and jacket off. Ralph Macchio is replaced by Jaden Smith. American location replaced by Chinese location. Everything else is a typical American (Hollywood) movie where there is a Hero and the women/girls are happily weeping with joy. On the other hand , if you have not then it is a straight forward story of 12-year-old Dre Parker who moves from Detroit to Beijing with his Mum Sherry (Taraji P. Henson)., gets into trouble with local kids by falling for sweet Mei Ying (Wenwen Han). Cheng (Zhenwei Wang) is the local bully who is interested in Mei. Without spoiling it, everything goes American afterwards And just in case you do not know, there is fighting involving young boys, as a parent you may get squeamish.
A “Feel Good” film with fantastic Chinese settings indicating strong support from the Chinese Tourist Board. The sound track is also quite good.

Afrometer: 6.9/10

Reviewed by Ade . Return to top


Inception

If there is one advice I would give to anyone who wants to see this film, it would be “Do not leave your brain at home”. This piece is n’t for everyone. If you like films about dreams combined with Matrix, then it is a “Must See”. Despite the films having a 12A certification, my 10 year old whizz kid who is excellent in Mechanical maths struggled for about an hour threatening to walk out to see Toy Story 3. To stop him questioning every line, I had to throw him a Matrix glance to stop the “Who wants to become a Millionaire” questioning he was about to embark on.

In order not to give the plot away, I shall leave it to your 3 dimensional imagination. The film features a strong cast Joseph Gordon-Levitt who plays Arthur, Dom’s business partner, hunky Tom Hardy a far cry from his role in Bronson. It also includes distinguished gentlemen such as Michael Caine and Pete Postlethwaite who of course are in a class of their own. Young Ellen Page also plays Ariadne the apprentice to Dom.

Afrometer: 7.2/10

Reviewed by Ade . Return to top


Toy Story 3

Let me start by saying that I'm a huge Toy Story fan. So does this sequel match up to the now classic original? Read on to find out.

As with all Pixar productions, you are never thrown into the film straight away and they are always preceded with a short film. This one was called Black and White and contrasted the livea of two, well I can only describe them as, human blobs and how their lives were paralleled, but different. It was a short fun film.

Then you are tranported into the main feature and we are treated to seeing our favorite group of toys, back together. Woody, Buzz, Mr. & Mrs Potato Head, the lovable alien "Claw" clan and the rest. Andy is now 17, and going to college and he must decide whether his toys should go into the attic, be given away to charity, or to take them with him to college. When Andy's Mum accidentally puts most of the toys out with the rubbish, that is when the adventure really begins. I don't like to give away too much, but needless to say this adventure has some classic moments that you'll remember long after the credits have rolled. Particular highlights for me are Ken and Barbie and when Buzz Lightyear undergoes a "change".

This is certainly a return to form for the Pixar animators, with this franchise, as I felt they lost their way a little with Toy Story 2. Again they capture the essence of the bond between a child and their toys and how hard it can be to let go of things as we get older. Though Toy Story 3 is pretty good, for me, it has not surpassed the charm and enchantment of the original. Maybe this says more about my attachment and bond with the original, rather than about the quality of the third installment.

Afrometer: 7.5/10

Reviewed by Dom . Return to top


The Last Air Bender

I went to see this movie with my son to view Dev Patel in another light.My son(10), quickly gave me a quick tutorial on earth wind and fire elements as the film was starting up based on a cartoon version. I understood where it was all going within the first 5 minutes.

In summary, it is a story about the last Avatar who is a young boy not keen on the responsibility of having to keep peace amongst nations (Earth Water, Air, Fire). His reluctance leads to the rise of the Fire Kingdom wanting to capture all others benders so that they could rule all kingdoms.

Aang, the last avatar with the help of Katara and Sokka from a Southern Water tribe begin to travel north where there is the main Water kingdom of benders.

Dev Patel aka Prince Zuko is the son of the King of Fire with the responsibility of capturing the last Avatar but he has competition from within his Kingdom to win his Father heart.

I do not wish to spoil it, but in the current economic climate, I would rather wait for it to come out on DVD or better still , TV. The story is lame for 2010, the acting is average and there seems to be something fundamentally missing, a good story line.

There also plans to make it a trilogy. Good luck to them, you have been warned.

Afrometer: 4.2/10

Reviewed by Ade. Return to top